Episode 22 – Ellen leaves

A few weeks later Ellen and I were sitting on my bed reading books. I was laughing at a funny passage in my novel and Ellen was smiling at me because I kept making her laugh. Sometimes we went on like that for what seemed like hours, but Ellen was always the first one to get bored with reading. This day she seemed a bit restless and her smiles looked a little sad. I wasn’t sure what was wrong but I didn’t want to ask and upset her again so I just tried to find funny parts of my book to read out so that she would laugh with me.

‘Mum and I are going to Melbourne for Christmas,’ Ellen suddenly blurted out.

I looked up from my book. ‘What?’

‘Mum and I are going to Melbourne for Christmas. I wanted to tell you earlier but I couldn’t.’

‘When… when do you go?’ I wasn’t smiling anymore. I had thought we were going to be together for the whole summer holidays. I didn’t know whether to feel happy for her or not but I knew I felt unhappy for myself.

‘We catch the train after school on Friday. Mum said that she wanted to visit her sister. I haven’t seen Aunty Vicky for years… I’ll write to you every day, Molly.’

‘I’ll write to you as well, but I’m really going to miss you, Ellen.’

‘I’ll miss you too, Molly, but you have to promise not to tell anyone, at least until after we’ve gone.’ I looked at her face closely. I felt like there was something she wasn’t telling me. How come she had never mentioned going to Melbourne before, and why the secret?

‘I won’t tell anyone,’ I said, ‘I promise.’

She looked happy; no, more relieved than happy, and gave me a hug.

‘It’s going to be all right,’ she said. ‘Mum and I will be safe. Aunty Vicky lives on the beach just south of Melbourne.’ She had become chatty now, but I was still worried. ‘I remember going there a few years ago,’ said Ellen, ‘It was when I was little and it was really pretty and colourful. These little wooden houses were on the edge of the beach and we walked on the sand every day.’ Ellen stopped and looked at me thoughtfully. ‘You’ve gone quiet, Molly.’ She kissed me and I put my arms around her neck and she leaned her head against the curve of my arm. There was so much I wanted to say to her but I just couldn’t think of the words. I closed my eyes to stop the tears from falling.

As we sat there silently for a moment, I tried to think of myself in Ellen’s place. There were no secrets between us and my mind ran with thoughts of rabbits and bruises as I tried to understand Ellen’s struggle. We sat there clinging to each other for ages until Mum called out from the kitchen,

‘Molly, Ellen – it’s time for dinner.’

‘You mustn’t tell anyone,’ Ellen whispered as we walked out of the bedroom.

Leave a Reply

