Hope and despair

25_Online_01

Hope
Heartbeats skip across the water,
Bouncing off waves.

You are shelter from the rain,
But right now I am wet.

I am thick skinned
Except where my skin is thin,
And there I ache to be touched.

Cheap wine can get you tipsy,
Sipping my wine will make you drunk.

I won’t let you go home
Until you come with me darling.

Despair
When you closed the curtains
I could no longer see into your mind.

You drove a foreign car too often,
Losing interest in your local model.

Now your heart is somewhere else,
Please bring it back when you are done.

Heartbeats skip across the water
Before sinking like a stone.

 

 

Leave a Reply

