Burnt

I am a gum tree,
Proud and tall
In Australian bush,
Not a classic beauty
But attractive in my own way,
Particular when adorned
With delicate spring blossoms.

I felt his heat reach me
On the warm summer breeze,
A hot tongue licking
The soft bark of my trunk,
Stroking my limbs,
Wrapping me in flames
Of his passion
Until we burnt together
Through the night.

He was gone next morning,
Leaving me aching and scarred,
A burnt out shell
Under the blue sky,
Crying tears of ash.

It takes time,
But I need to feel
His fire now and again,
Despite the devastation
It brings
Renewal.

8 thoughts on “Burnt

Leave a Reply

