Pink lines

Waiting on my bed,
anxiously looking
for those little pink lines

holding my breath
mind spinning
with a thousand
confused thoughts
oscilating hopes and fears
anticipation and trepidation
as seconds tick by

am I ready for this?
positive or negative,
which do I want?
is there already new life
growing inside my body?
cells dividing every second
that I wait anxiously

how will I look
with a swollen belly?
stroking my tummy
will I put on lots of weight?
will my baby be healthy?
will I be sick all the time
like my sister was?
I’m not even sure I want to breastfeed
feeling panic rising
in my throat

Waiting on my bed
Anxiously looking
For those little pink lines

Leave a Reply

