Last night a dream

Last night in a dream,
You pulled up in my driveway;
A baby in the back seat,
White veil in your hair.

Don’t you remember
That night we fell in love?
How your heart beat
The first time we kissed.

You were my goddess of love,
Filling hungry eyes
With your midnight desires,
Throwing away caution.

Lightning flashes,
Hot December nights;
Thoughts and feelings,
Confused layers of meaning.

Under early morning rain
You kissed me goodbye,
Turning your face away
From this existential lovescape.

But I can still feel
The imprint of your fingers
Left behind on my skin;
Graceful and beautiful.

As I step out of the present,
Cold and emotionless,
Searching for the human factor
In somebody else’s arms.

One thought on “Last night a dream

Comments are closed.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

