I can’t do a love song

There were so many things I didn’t know;
at the age of eighteen I thought life
was meant to be like a movie,
a romantic comedy
that would throw the love of my life
into my path in some serendipitous moment,
that moment when our eyes meet
across a crowded room
and music begins to play;
like a hopeless romantic
he would take my hand
and lead me to the dance floor
as a slow song plays we kiss
and my life would never be the same again;
but now I’m never going to dance again,
my guilty feet may be clumsy
but it wasn’t me that looked the other way.

Leave a Reply

