Liking yourself makes others see your beauty

20160430_193817.jpg

Liking yourself makes others see your beauty,
the shimmering of stars in the night sky,
where dreams float through the universe;

you will find me standing in the shadows of the moon,
my fingers making the silver sounds
that express what my voice cannot say;

I see the way they look at me,
I can look at the ground or look them in the eye
but either way their judgements cut my heart;

I could be someone’s girlfriend,
but what if she tried to clip my wings?

they don’t see the other face,
the one I see in the bathroom mirror,
the one that smiles back like she knows my secrets.

Leave a Reply

