Book review: Breathe by Sarah Crossan

Breathe (Breathe, #1)Breathe by Sarah Crossan

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I loved the premise of this book… a dystopian world where the oxygen we take for granted is carefully measured out and controlled by the wealthy… but the execution could have been better. Sometimes it works when a novel is told by multiple points of view, but in this one I found it distracting. Perhaps it was the tone, always sounding more like a retelling of the story rather then something that was actually happening to the characters that drew the reader in emotionally. Therein lies my problem with Breathe. I wanted to love it. So badly. But I didn’t feel emotional attachment to any of the characters and it was easy to put down rather than making me want to find out what happens next. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoyed reading Breathe. It just didn’t entice me enough to make me want to read the next one in the series.

View all my reviews

Comments are closed.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

