Wattle blooms

_mg_0083

In the middle of winter, when everything is cold and grey, the wattle blooms bring a splash of colour and a hint of warmer, happier days to come.

Golden wattle is Australia’s floral emblem, and it’s not hard to see why when the countryside sparkles with all different types of wattle trees. Those little balls of yellow fluff that look so beautiful also bring misery to hay fever sufferers as the air fills with tiny pollen. Luckily for me I’m not one of them and I love to ride my bike through country lanes that are lined with gorgeous wattle blossoms.

The Australian cricket team sings about wattle after each victory, poets have written about it, songs have been sung about it, and we even have an Australian wattle day each year (that I confess that I didn’t even know we had until I just look it up).

So what does wattle mean to me? Wattle is one of those plants that makes me feel at home. It makes me feel connected to the land and the seasons. It reminds me that we are all part of nature and even in our crowded busy cities you can’t hide from the changing seasons. The wattle blooms in every park and corners of backyard gardens. It blooms along the nature strips lining our roads and it blooms in the bush.

It reminds me of the sunshine.

Have a beautiful day.

Molly xx

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

